Delegates are advised to have a valid visa before embarking on their journey to Tanzania. Visas can be acquired from any Tanzanian Embassy/High Commission, Consul General Office or Honorary Consul Offices.

Where Can I apply for a Visa?

There are 33 Tanzania diplomatic missions around the world where visa applications can also be made: Abu Dhabi – UAE, Abuja – Nigeria, Addis Ababa – Ethiopia, Beijing – China, Berlin – Germany, Brasilia – Brasil, Brussels – Belgium, Bujumbura – Burundi, Cairo – Egypt, Geneva – Switzerland, Harare – Zimbabwe, Tokyo – Japan, Kigali – Rwanda, Kinshasha – DRC, Kuala Lumpur – Malaysia, Lilongwe – Malawi, London – UK, Lusaka – Zambia, Maputo – Mozambique, Mombasa – Kenya, Muscat – Oman, Moscow – Russia, Nairobi – Kenya, New Delhi – India, New York – USA, Otawa – Canada, Paris – France, Perth – Australia, Riyadh – Saudi Arabia, Rome – Italy, Pretoria – South Africa, Stockholm – Sweden and Washington DC- USA.

For a  list of countries that REQUIRE a Visa:

Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Chad, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Equatorial Guinea, Kazakhstan Republic, Kyigten Republic, Lebanon, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Palestine, Senegal, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Somali land, Sierra Leone, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Stateless persons or persons with refugee status.

If your country is not listed above you will require a Valid Visa to enter Tanzania.

Visa fee is US$ 50 single entry and US$ 100 for American and Canadian Citizens.

List of countries that do NOT require a visa:

Antigua & Barbuda, Anguilla, Ashmore & Certie Island, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Belize, Brunei, British Virgin Island, British Indian Ocean Territory, Botswana, Cyprus, Cayman Island, Channel Island, Cocoas Island, Cook Island, Christmas Island, Dominica, Falkland Island, Gambia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guernsey, Guyana, Heard Island, Hong Kong, Isle of man, Jamaica, Jersey, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Montserrat, Malaysia, Madagascar, Malta, Mauritius, Macao, Mozambique, Nauru, Naue Island, Norfolk Island, Namibia, Papua new Guinea, Rwanda , Romania, Ross Dependency, Samoa, Seychelles, Singapore, Swaziland, Solomon Island, St. Kitts&Navis, St. Lucia, St. Vicent, St. Helana, South African Republic, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos, Tokelan, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Yellow Fever Vaccination Certificate

A valid yellow fever vaccination certificate must be presented at all points of entry into both Tanzania and Zanzibar, by ALL delegates coming from or have taken flights transiting through yellow fever prone zones before arriving to Tanzania.

Yellow Fever vaccination is not compulsory for visitors arriving directly into Tanzania from NON-endemic countries like Europe, the USA and Japan. Tanzania is mapped by the World Health Organization (WHO) as a low risk country for Yellow fever (WHO 2015 update). However, the presence of Yellow fever vector (mosquitoes) poses potential risk for Yellow fever if the virus is introduced into the country.

All visitors from Non-Endemic countries, whom on their way to Tanzania have passed through Endemic Yellow Fever zone(s) but they did not get out of that country’s airport, will not require Yellow Fever vaccination certificate provided the transit time at the airport is less than 12 hours.

In order to conform to International Health Regulations requirement and safeguard public health security in Tanzania, Yellow fever vaccination is mandatory to travellers arriving from Yellow fever endemic countries. This condition also applies to travellers subjected to long flight connection (transit) in an airport of a Yellow fever endemic country for twelve hours (12hrs) or more.

All visitor from Endemic Yellow Fever zone(s), and those visitors whom on their way to Tanzania have passed through Endemic Yellow Fever zone(s) and get out of that country’s airport, will be required to show their yellow fever certificates on their arrival into Tanzania or receive vaccination at the entry point on their arrival (vaccination fee is US $ 50).

For more information on Visa required please visit:-

The United Republic of Tanzania, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and East African Cooperation  and Tanzania Immigration Department



If you require further assistant, please contact the following person:
Ms. Catherine A. Kilinda

Telephone: +255 755 550 366